This Week, Next Week: 22nd November, 2015

Happy Sunday everyone – hope you are having a good weekend. As nearly always, ours seemed or go too fast. It’s also been a bit boring as we’ve been stuck in the house a lot due to the weather. Having moved to a new area, we are slowly figuring out where things are but it’s rainy days that make us realise how little we know is out there to do (that doesn’t involve getting soaked). We’ll get there though and today we are going to check out a new trampoline park that is apparently for all the family and includes trampolines on walls? Hopefully it will be fun and not result in broken limbs…wish me luck!

imageBook wise, I had a good week and got out of my reading slump thanks to some short stories I decided to read for national shorty story week. I enjoyed each of the stories I read but my favourites was The Octopus Nest by Sophie Hannah which had the best twist at the end, plus she’s an author I really like reading – she has a great writing style.

The short stories were the break I needed and in the end, meant I also felt motivated enough to finish Little Girl Gone by Rebecca Burke (review to follow this week) and get most of the way through November 9 by Colleen Hoover for Kimba’s book club.  I hope to finish that today.

What I’ll read after that I’m not sure. I have a bit of a backlog from recent weeks so I am going to try and get that down but I did add two books to the pile also, How to be Bad by E. Lockhart, by E. Lockhart, Lauren Myracle, and Sarah Mlynowski and The Rest of Us Just Live Her by Patrick Ness, which has really caught my eye so may be the one Images link to Goodreads)

How to Be BadThe Rest of Us Just Live Here

Have you read either – what do you think? What else are you reading / up to this week?

Emma

This week, I’m linking in with Kimba at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer and her Sunday Post and with (a little early) with Katherine at Book Date for It’s Monday, What Are you Reading? Head over to see what other bloggers have read, written about or just added to their shelves.

The Sunday Post

33 comments

  1. It does take a while to get your bearings when you move somewhere new. Good luck discovering everything nearby.

    I was looking at How to be Bad a while back, I liked the cover. Hope it’s good. 🙂

    Like

    • It does but it’s fun too. I liked We WereLiars so am hoping this is good though not sure how it will work with three authors. Thanks for stopping by. Have a good week!

      Like

  2. I saw The Rest of Us Just Live Here in the stores earlier this week and I have been struggling not going back and buying it, haha. So far it seems to be getting mostly good reviews.

    I hope your trampoline adventre went well. 😉
    Have a great week.

    Like

    • It’s strange that it’s so strange but it’s also the move from a city to a suburb. We seem to be driving a lot more than we ever did. Still the space and quite are real pluses. Turns out I’m rubbish at trampolining!

      Like

  3. I love Sophie Hannah’s books and I’m a little behind on them…I must catch up! How to Be Bad looks good…isn’t that one of them the author of We Were Liars?

    I have Little Girl Gone with the title Remember Mia…confusing when books come out with different titles. But I hope to enjoy it.

    Thanks for sharing…and have a great week; and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

    • Hi there – yes, E Lockhart wrote We Were Liars..not sure how a collaborative piece will work out but hopefully well. Enjoy Remembering Mia…I did 😄

      Like

  4. haha trampolining off walls, sounds like such fun! I like Patrick Ness, The Rest of Us Just Live Here is on my groaning TBR mountain, hope you enjoy it. Have a great week!

    Like

  5. I hate that feeling when you are in a book slump. You look around and try to set a match to books, but they all just fizzle out before anything gets going. I’m feeling like that right now.

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

    Like

  6. The trampoline park sounds equal parts fun, equal parts dangerous. Haha! I hope it’s more fun though!

    I’ve been enjoying short stories a lot more over the past month of so. I think they’re great for dipping in and out of, especially when you have little reading time, or need to get out of a slump. I still need to check out some of Sophie Hannah’s work – you aren’t the first to have remarked on her writing style.

    I’ve a Patrick Ness book on the docket this week – More Than This. I’ve yet to read The Rest of Us Just Live Here but I’ve heard a lot of good things about the unique concept.

    Like

    • It was fun. I may be getting too old for it though. I ache today. I have high hopes for Patrick Ness. I’ve not read him before. Definitely check out Sophie Hannah…it’s worth it!

      Like

Leave a comment