Tuesday Intro: Closed Circles by Viveca Sten

imageThis week, I’m linking up again with Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea who hosts a post every Tuesday for people to share the first chapter / paragraph of the book they are reading, or thinking of reading soon. I really enjoy these tasters when I read them on other blogs so wanted to join in.

This week, I’m reading Closed Circles by Viveca Sten.  It’s the second in the Sandhamn series and, as I really enjoyed the first of these, Still Waters, I have high hopes.  Here’s what it’s about…

imageIt’s a beautiful day for a regatta—until one of Sandhamn Island’s most prestigious residents is killed aboard his sailing yacht.

Oscar Juliander was a rich lawyer and deputy chairman of the prestigious Royal Swedish Yacht Club. While at first his death seems like a tragic accident, there is evidence of foul play. Police detective Thomas Andreasson teams up with local lawyer Nora Linde to investigate. As they work to uncover clues, they face resistance from an elite world where nothing but appearance matters.

When the rich and powerful inhabitants of Sweden’s idyllic island getaway come under scrutiny, Thomas and Nora must work closely and secretively to seek justice.

And here’s how it starts…

“The woman’s voice slowly counted down over Channel 16 on the marine radio: “Ten, nine, eight…”

The water churned with boats. Several large racing sailboats, meant for the open sea with their enormous sails and shining hulls, crowded the starting line a few nautical miles from Sandhamn.  Beyond the starting area, observers maneuvered their boats to get the best view, prepared to follow the spectacle with binoculars.

The starting vessel, a minesweeper on loan from the navy, was positioned to the starboard of the starting line. Everywhere, large sails ballooned to capture the slight breeze.

The scene was perfectly set for an exciting race.

The voice continued: “Seven, six…”

What do you think, would you keep on reading?

Emma

 

30 comments

    • The setting is amazing (or sounds it if you ignore the fact that, one again, there are people being murdered!). I want to visit…and meet the characters.

      Like

    • The setting is so picturesque the way it’s described in the book, I really should google the island. Shame to sully it with murder 😄

      Like

    • I can see that. The book is a slower start than some others but I’m enjoying so far…I feel like I’ve returned to a familiar place after reading the first book.

      Like

    • Sorry! I will try and pick a terrible sounding book next week. You can also blame Amazon who keep tempting me with deals…they seem to have figured out (at last!) what I like to read.

      Like

    • I do think of it as the scandanavian style and wonder if that is in part because it’s a translation? It is a style that has always appealed to me. I’m hoping the characters develop on from the last book, which I really enjoyed.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A mystery! I enjoy a good mystery. Although boats and racing don’t particularly interest me, I imagine the murder mystery takes more of center stage. I would keep reading.

    Like

Leave a comment