This Week, Next Week (and Last Month)

So another Sunday is here…where do the weeks go? This one can probably be described in one word – wet. It has, rather depressingly, rained every day – a typical British Summer. Other than that, it’s been a slow week bar drinks with a couple of friends mid-week, when most of the talk was still on the Brexit. I did manage to finish one book, The Fire Child by S. K. Tremayne, but stalled with The Little Red Chair by Edna O’Brien (see Tuesday’s post for an overview). I was too distracted by the TV, binge watching The Disappearance (a French crime drama).

I did a little better blogging wise, getting two reviews up: The Invoice by Jonas Karlsson, which I loved. The story of a seemingly average man who gets a huge bill for being happy. It’s a quirky look at materialism and what we really need to make us happy. A26 by Pascal Garnier was much darker, a story of a brother and sister, unhealthy relationships and murder. Despite all this I really enjoyed it.

Overall, it’s meant a slow reading month for June, with not that many books read or reviewed. Saying that, those I did read were really good.

In addition to The Invoice, I loved The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood which was not what I expected – in a good way obviously – as a young woman tries to unravel what happened to her half sister who disappeared over ten years earlier (at the age of three).

The rest of my reads I liked a lot…

Closed Circles by Viveca Sten, set in a picturesque Swedish island, local police try to solve the murder of a wealthy resident, shot in the middle of a yacht race. Not easy when the rest of his elite circle close ranks.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, a young adult book I enjoyed more than I thought I would with it’s mix of monsters and time travel and thanks in part to the spooky pictures scattered throughout the pages.

The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza which opens with scenes it’s hard to forget and continues with dectective Erika Foster trying to track down a serial killer her colleagues don’t want to admit exists.

The Last Lullaby by Carin Gerhardsen and the last in the Hammarby series I’ll be able to read for a while, this is another Swedish crime series that I have come to really enjoy. This time dectetives are looking for a brutal killer and one of their own officers. The question is are they the same man?

So, not many but all highly recommended. How about you – how was your week, your month?

Emma

This week, I’m linking in with Kimba at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer and her Sunday Post and with (a little early) Katherine at Book Date for It’s Monday, What Are you Reading? Head over to see what other bloggers have read, written about or just added to their shelves.

The Sunday Post

21 comments

  1. Am keen to read Tremayne’s latest Emma and I think I’ve put in a request for it, but must check. Girl in the Ice and Last Lullaby look great as well!

    Like

    • I was slightly surprised when this one turned up but very glad it did. I haven’t read The Ice Twins yet but not need to. It was a good book so hope you get a copy.

      Like

  2. I’ve heard all sorts of good things about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but thought the cover looks as though it lurched into outright horror, which I don’t like. Your description makes me reconsider my decision:). Like you, I’m thoroughly fed up with the weather – and am busy trying not to think about Brexit :(. Let’s hope July is a lot better! This is my Sunday Post – https://sjhigbee.wordpress.com/2016/07/03/sunday-post-3rd-july/

    Like

    • At least we had some decent weather today, at least up North. Miss Peregrine’s isn’t horror at all though I can see how the cover can make it look that way.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I’m beginning to realise it isn’t the grim, scary read I was fearing – I do hate creepy stuff that includes children! And yes – we had plenty of sunshine today and it was a lot warmer out of the wind. Fingers crossed it continues!

        Like

  3. I think The Invoice sounds interesting and I’m kinda interested in The Fire child too. Sorry to hear about all the rain- hopefully you can get a break in the weather soon!

    Like

  4. Yes well it rained here most of the week too but then it is winter. Wow what a to do over Brexit, and what a surprise when Britain voted out. Interesting times! Lots of thriller like reading! Hope you enjoy the week to come.

    Like

    • A surprise but maybe because we (well a lot of us) had our head in the sand. It is definitely interesting times to be living in. Better than fiction!

      Like

Leave a comment